釀酒過程

就像最精美的餐廳或最精緻的白葡萄酒一樣,精釀啤酒是一種手工製作的手工產品。在香港啤酒公司經驗豐富的釀酒師的手中,可以個性化的技能,技巧和創造力將100多種精釀啤酒進行小批量生產。

精釀啤酒具有四種核心成分-麥芽,水,啤酒花和酵母。如果您想知道這四種簡單的配料如何組合而成100多種光榮而獨特的精釀啤酒,那麼以下有關釀造過程的入門知識將幫助您理解。

步驟1
在Mash Tun中搗碎

首先,將發芽的大麥或“麥芽”碾碎成碎粒,稱為“麥芽粉”。將穀物添加到稱為“土豆泥”的容器中。將沸騰的水加入麥芽粉中,製成“麥芽”,看起來像燕麥片,聞起來像美味的甜麵包。麥芽糊具有良好的攪拌機制,稱為“麥芽耙”,可以使麥芽溫度保持均勻;有效的加熱方法不會使麥芽變焦;還可以進行適當的保溫,以將靜止溫度保持長達一小時。在適當的溫度下,麥芽中的天然酶將麥芽的澱粉分解成糖(用於發酵)和糊精(使啤酒有口感)。溫度稍低的土豆泥會產生酥脆,乾燥的啤酒,而溫度較高時會產生更甜,更豐富的啤酒。

第2步
勞特屯的勞特

接下來,將液體“甜麥芽汁”(發音為“ wert”)與糖漿固體分離成“月桂花”。過濾桶具有開縫的穿孔地板,也稱為假底,可容納用過的碾碎的穀物,同時允許甜麥芽汁通過穀物床過濾並收集在下面的空間中。

步驟3
在啤酒壺中跳來跳去

甜麥芽汁用管道輸送到“煮水壺”中,在其中煮沸60至90分鐘。在煮沸過程中,添加啤酒花以創建“麥芽汁”。啤酒花是植物Hum草的花或視錐細胞。啤酒廠目前可以選擇170多種啤酒花。啤酒花有助於使啤酒保持新鮮,更長的時間,幫助啤酒保持泡沫,並增加香氣,風味和苦味。有些啤酒花打算在煮沸初期使用,以賦予苦味,而另一些啤酒花則因其獨特的香氣而倍受珍視,並打算在煮沸結束時,漩渦中或發酵過程中以“幹跳躍”的方式添加。 。”

第四步
在漩渦中分開

煮沸後,麥芽汁進入“漩渦”容器,該容器將剩餘的穀物和啤酒花碎片分離出來。當熱麥芽汁在漩渦池中旋轉時,向心力導致沉積物聚集在容器底部的中心,形成“錐錐”,並使其餘的麥芽汁保持暢通。漩渦跳躍比壺跳躍增加了更少的苦味(因為麥芽汁的溫度低於煮沸過程中的溫度),取而代之的是捕獲揮發性的啤酒花香氣油,否則它們會在較高的溫度下迅速沸騰。一旦麥芽汁靜下來,就將其泵送通過換熱器,該換熱器可對麥芽汁進行受控冷卻,然後進入發酵容器,並丟棄錐果園。

第5步
在發酵罐中發酵

發酵是“糖”被“酵母”轉化為酒精,二氧化碳和熱量的過程。酵母的特定菌株和發酵溫度對發酵的結果至關重要,不僅在酵母代謝麥芽汁中產生酒精的能力和獨特的風味特性方面,而且在酵母耐受副產物的能力方面代謝,尤其是酒精。酵母實際上有數百種。而且,啤酒釀造商通常會嫉妒地保護自己的酵母菌株(由於發酵結束時對收集到的酵母進行連續重排,有些菌株幾十年來保持不變)。大多數啤酒發酵在4至10天內完成,此時啤酒被認為是“綠色”或“未加工”的啤酒,準備成熟。

我們的許多啤酒都是“干啤酒花”,在此過程中,啤酒完成初步發酵後,將啤酒花加回啤酒中浸泡。幹跳躍為我們的啤酒帶來了大量的香氣,而不會明顯增加它們的苦味。此過程非常類似於通過將茶袋浸入室溫水中來泡茶。通常,這是一個緩慢的過程,我們可以使用“跳槍”來加速和增強浸泡,該“跳槍”通過後期添加啤酒花使啤酒快速再循環。

第6步
在儲罐中成熟

成熟包括在初級發酵結束與從啤酒中去除酵母以準備包裝之間的所有轉化。在成熟過程中,通過酵母的持續作用或通過其他有機化學途徑,減少了任何剩餘的化合物,從而使啤酒的全部風味得以發展。

步驟7
打包

將啤酒像葡萄酒一樣冷藏並“窖藏”約2-4週(取決於啤酒類型),然後包裝(用小桶,瓶或罐裝)並分發。

Our Brewing Process

Just like the finest restaurant meal or the most delicate white wine, craft beer is a handcrafted, artisanal product. In the hands of Hong Kong Beer Co's experienced brewers, over 100 craft beer categories can be brought to life in small batches with individualized skill, technique, and creativity.

Craft beer has four core ingredients - malt, water, hops, and yeast. If you’ve ever wondered how these four simple ingredients combine to make over 100 glorious and distinctive craft beers, the following primer on the brewing process will catapult your understanding.

STEP 1
Mashing in the Mash Tun

First, malted barley or “malt” is milled into crushed kernels called “grist.” The grist is added to a vessel called a “mash tun.” Boiling water is added to the grist to make a “mash” that looks like oatmeal and smells like delicious, sweet bread. The mash tun has a good stirring mechanism known as a “mash rake” to keep the temperature of the mash uniform, an efficient heating method that will not scorch the grist, and proper insulation to maintain rest temperatures for up to one hour. At the right temperature, natural enzymes in the malt break down the malt’s starches into sugars (for fermenting) and dextrins (gives the beer mouthfeel.) A slightly lower-temperature mash creates crisp, dry beers, while higher temperatures produce sweeter, richer beers.

STEP 2
Lautering in the Lauter Tun

Next up, the liquid “sweet wort” (pronounced “wert”) is separated from the mash solids in the “lauter tun.” The lauter tun has a slotted, perforated floor, also called a false bottom, that holds the spent milled grains, while allowing the sweet wort to filter through the grain bed and collect in the space beneath.

STEP 3
Hopping in the Brew Kettle

The sweet wort is piped into the “brew kettle” where it is boiled for 60 to 90 minutes. During the boil, hops are added to create “wort.” Hops are the flowers, or cones, of the plant Humulus lupulus. There are currently over 170 varieties of hops from which brewers can choose. Hops help to keep beer fresher, longer, help beer retain its head of foam, and add aroma, flavor, and bitterness. Some hops are intended to be used early in the boil to impart bitterness while others are prized for their distinctive aroma and are meant to be added at the end of the boil, during the whirlpool, or during fermentation in a process known as “dry hopping.”

Step 4
Separating in the Whirlpool

After boiling, wort enters the “whirlpool,” a vessel that separates out any leftover grain and hop fragments. As the hot wort is swirled in the whirlpool tank, the centripetal forces cause the sediment to gather in the center of the bottom of the vessel, forming a “trub cone” and leaving the rest of the wort clear. Whirlpool hopping adds less bitterness than kettle hopping (since the temperature of the wort is lower than during the boil) and instead captures volatile hop aroma oils that would otherwise boil off quickly at higher temperatures. Once the wort comes to a rest, it is pumped through a heat exchanger that allows for a controlled cooling of the wort and then into a fermentation vessel and the trub cone is discarded.

Step 5
Fermenting in the Fermentation Vessel

Fermentation is the process whereby “sugars” are converted by “yeast” to alcohol, carbon dioxide, and heat. The specific strain of yeast and the fermentation temperature are critical to the outcome of the fermentation, not only in the ability of the yeast to metabolize the wort contents to produce alcohol and distinctive flavour characteristics but also in the capacity of the yeast to tolerate the byproducts of its own metabolism, most notably alcohol. There are literally hundreds of varieties of yeast; and yet, brewer’s typically jealously guard their yeast strains (with some strains remaining unchanged for decades due to serial repitching of the collected yeast at the end of fermentation). Most beer fermentations are complete within 4 to 10 days at which point the beer is considered to be “green” or “raw,” and ready for maturation.

Many of our beers are “dry hopped,” a process in which, after the beer has completed primary fermentation, hops are added back to the beer to steep. Dry hopping contributes huge amounts of aroma to our beers without significantly increasing their bitterness. This process is very much like making tea by steeping tea bags in room temperature water. Typically a slow process, we are able to accelerate and enhance the steeping by using a “hop gun” which rapidly recirculates the beer through the late addition hops.

Step 6
Maturing in Storage Tanks

Maturation includes all transformations between the end of primary fermentation and the removal of yeast from the beer in preparation for packaging. During maturation, the full flavor of the beer develops as any remaining compounds are reduced, either by the continuing action of the yeast or by other organic chemical pathways.

Step 7
Packaging

The beer is chilled and “cellared” like wine for approximately 2-4 weeks (depending upon the beer style) in storage tanks before it is packaged (in kegs, bottles, or cans) and distributed.